Lemons to Lemonade

Last Satsummer 2013 025urday was not my favorite day.  On the way home from breakfast a passing vehicle kicked up a rock and dinged the windshield of our one working car pretty good.  A glass guy is making a house call tomorrow to take care of it for us.  Then the lawn-mowing company arrived a day early before we had pulled all the kid toys in from the yard.  Sometime between their arrival and their departure our non-working van that sits in the driveway developed a hole the size of a baseball in the side window.  I didn’t see it happen and have no evidence that they were the cause.  Alas.  Insurance won’t be covering that one so for now we’ve attached a large black garbage bag to the van using our fridge magnets.  Classy.  Everything that was on the fridge is now in a big pile on top of it- no doubt I will have forgotten that by the time I look for the Chinese restaurant menu or the emergency phone numbers.

I spent the last year dwelling in negative feelings.  This was primarily because I was pregnant and miserable.  So this year I’m attempting to stay on the straight and narrow, to be a Positive Polly, to acknowledge the bummers and then proceed full steam ahead.

When Saturday afternoon rolled around I wondered how I could take out my vehicle vengeance.  We had some lemons.  I was feeling sour.  I made some lemonade.  It turns out that squeezing lemons was the best thing for me at the time.  These days I use the Joy of Cooking as my go-to cookbook.  We had shelves of cookbooks for a time and I finally came to realize that less is more.  So now it’s Joy all the way for me.  I’ve found their lemonade recipe to be quite acceptable.  So if you’ve got a grudge or just a hankering to prolong the summer you might try the following;summer 2013 026

Old-Fashioned Lemonade

Boil for 2 minutes: 8 cups water, 1 1/2 cups to 2 cups sugar.  Refrigerate until cold.  Then stir in 1 cup lemon or lime juice.

Leave a Reply

